Students enjoy outdoor activities in the Pacific Northwest

Current PhD Students

Current UW Immunology PhD students form a close-knit community who actively interact and socialize together.  As a group, current UW Immunology PhD students gather socially at the department retreat and recruitment events.  They are supportive of each others’ work as evidenced by their regular strong attendance at weekly student research presentations and dissertation defenses.  It is common to find group of students gathered throughout the department having lunch time or coffee break discussions amongst each other.  This community environment is one of the most valued attributes to our graduate program.

CURRENT GRADUATE STUDENTS

Aderem Lab
Rudy Nazitto, rudy.nazitto@cidresearch.org
Greg Olson (MCB/MSTP), grego@uw.edu

Campbell Lab
Jenna Sullivan, jsull72@uw.edu
Erika Hayes (MCB), hayese2@uw.edu
Kristen Mittelsteadt (MCB), mittek@uw.edu

Clark Lab
Justin Ulrich-Lewis (Microbiology), julrlew@uw.edu

Crispe Lab
Radika Soysa (Pathobiology), soysar@uw.edu  

Gale Lab
Lauren Aarreberg, laarrebe@uw.edu
Rebecca Olson, rmfritz@uw.edu
Andrey Shuvarikov (MCB), ashuvari@uw.edu
Kathryn Wuertz (Pathobiology), kwuertz@uw.edu

Gerner Lab
Joey Leal, jmleal@uw.edu

Goverman Lab
Katie Wagner, kawagner@uw.edu

Hamerman Lab
Talyn Chu, talyn2@uw.edu

Lacy-Hulbert Lab
Alina Lorant, loranta@uw.edu

Moltke Lab
Jack McGinty, jmcgin@uw.edu 
Marija Nadjsombati, mnadjsom@uw.edu

Oberst Lab
Annelise Snyder, agsnyder@uw.edu
Michelle Brault (MCB), mrb318@uw.edu
Nick Hubbard, nhubb@uw.edu
Susana Orozco (MCB), slorozco@uw.edu 

Pepper Lab
Nicole Arroyo, enarroyo@uw.edu
Mikel Ruterbusch, mikelr@uw.edu

Ram Lab
Rochelle Joslyn, joslyn@uw.edu
Frank Soveg, fsoveg@uw.edu

Rawlings Lab
Fahd Al Qureshah, fahd@uw.edu
Michelle Dutra, mwray@uw.edu
Kerri Thomas, kerrit87@uw.edu

Stetson Lab
Ty Crowl, jtcrowl@uw.edu
Katie Burleigh (MCB), kslavens@uw.edu
Joanna Maltbaek, maltbaek@uw.edu
Megan Maurano (MCB/MSTP), mauranom@uw.edu

Urdahl Lab
Jared Delahaye, delahaye@uw.edu

Ziegler Lab
Gerald Kellar, kellarg@uw.edu
Stephanie Varela (MSTP), svarela@uw.edu

Rotating 1st Year Graduate Students
Tyler Billipp, tbillipp@uw.edu
Jessica Huang, jessh4@uw.edu
Sigal Kofman, sigalk@uw.edu
Miranda Lyons-Cohen, mlyonsco@uw.edu
Ragan Pitner, rpitner@uw.edu
Julian Smith, julianrs@uw.edu
Brittany Ulloa, bulloa@uw.edu

Graduate Program Student Demographics

Current demographics of graduate students in Immunology:

  • By Gender:  65% Female, 35% Male
  • By Age – Entering students in 2016-17 are 23-28; 100% age 28 or below.
  • By Education – Students have a BS or BA primarily in Biology, Biochemistry, Microbiology, Molecular and Cellular Biology.  Some students enrolling in the graduate program have already completed a Master’s degree. 

Examples of Student Publications

  1. Lau L, Gray EE, Brunette RL, Stetson DB.  2015.  DNA tumor virus oncogenes antagonize the cGAS_STING DNA sensing pathwayScience; pii: aab3291.  PMID: 26405230.
  2. Kolhatkar NS, Brahmandam A, Thouvenel CD, Becker-Herman S, Jacobs HM, Schwartz MA, Allenspach EJ, Khim S, Panigrahi AK, Luning Prak ET, Thrasher AJ, Notarangelo LD, Candotti F, Torgerson TR, Sanz I, Rawlings DJ.  2015.  Altered BCR and TLR signals promote enhanced positive selection of autoreactive transitional B cells in Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome.  J Exp Med; 212(10):1663-77.  PMCID: PMC4577851.
  3. Wagner CA and Goverman JM. (2015) Novel insights and therapeutics in multiple sclerosis. F1000Research 2015, 4(F1000 Faculty Rev):517.PMCID: PMC4544373.
  4. Krishnamurty AT, Thouvenel CD, Portugal S, Keitany GJ, Kim KS, Holder A, Crompton PD, Rawlings DJ, Pepper M. (2016) Somatically Hypermutated plasmodium-specific IgM+ memory B cells are rapid, plastic, early responders upon malaria rechallenge. Immunity. 45:402-414. PMCID: PMC5118370.
  5. Stolley JM, Campbell DJ. (2016) A 33D1+ dendritic cell/autoreactive CD4+ T cell circuit maintains IL-2-dependent regulatory T cells in the spleen. J. Immunol. 197:2635-45. PMCID: PMC5026945.
  6. Duggan JM, Buechler MB, Olson RM, Hohl TM, Hamerman JA.  (2017) BCAP inhibits proliferation and differentiation of myeloid progenitors in the steady state and during demand situations. Blood. 129:1503-1513. PMCID: PMC5356451.