Congratulations to Dr. Buechler for successfully defending his dissertation August 12, 2014.  The title of his dissertation is “Type I IFN, Toll-like Receptor Signaling and Myeloid Homeostasis”

Buechler earned his PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Jessica Hamerman, Affiliate Associate Professor in the UW Department of Immunology.  The Hamerman Lab is located at the Benaroya Research Institute in South Lake Union.

Congratulations to Dr. Simmons for successfully defending her dissertation July 9, 2014.  The title of her dissertation is “Cytokine-regulated neutrophil recruitment is required for brain but not spinal cord inflammation during EAE”

Simmons earned her PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Joan Goverman, Professor and Chair of the Department of Immunology.  The Goverman Lab is located at the UW South Lake Union Medical Research campus.

The Department of Immunology at the University of Washington seeks highly qualified applicants for three full time tenure-track and tenured positions that could be at the Assistant, Associate or Full Professor level. Applicants must hold PhD or MD degrees in immunology or a similar degree (or foreign equivalent) and have a record of published research in immunology. The University of Washington faculty engage in teaching, research and service. The successful candidates will be expected to teach at both the undergraduate and graduate level and conduct independent research in the field. The Department of Immunology offers excellent laboratory space and access to contemporary analytical tools. Additional information regarding the department can be found at These positions will remain open until filled. Please email a cover letter, curriculum vitae, a brief description of proposed research, as well as names and addresses of three references to:

Joan M. Goverman, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Immunology
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98109-8059

These positions are currently posted here on the UW website.

The University of Washington is an Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Employer.

Dr. Dan Stetson of the Department of Immunology at the University of Washington has been named one of the 2014 Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease Awards from the Burroughs Wellcome Fund.

This award provides $500,000 over a period of five years to support accomplished investigators at the assistant professor level to study pathogenesis, with a focus on the interplay between human and microbial biology, shedding light on how human and microbial systems are affected by their encounters. The awards are intended to give recipients the freedom and flexibility to pursue new avenues of inquiry and higher-risk research projects that hold potential for significantly advancing the biochemical, pharmacological, immunological, and molecular biological understanding of how microbes and the human body interact.

The Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease program provides opportunities for assistant professors to bring multidisciplinary approaches to the study of human infectious diseases.

The goal of the program is to provide opportunities for accomplished investigators still early in their careers to study what happens at the points where human and microbial systems connect. The program supports research that sheds light on the fundamentals that affect the outcomes of this encounter: how colonization, infection, commensalism and other relationships play out at levels ranging from molecular interactions to systemic ones.

Congratulations to Dr. Edward Clark, Professor in the UW Departments of Immunology and Microbiology, who has been named to the UW Presidential Entrepreneurial Faculty, in recognition of his significant contribution to the "translational and entrepreneurial culture" at the University of Washington.

Presidential Entrepreneurial Faculty Fellows receive $5000 in discretionary commercialization funds per year for up to two years of service.   These funds may be applied toward commercialization activities including travel, research, or market analysis.

The UW Presidential Entrepreneurial Faculty Fellows Program was created in 2011, in recognition of the value UW faculty entrepreneurship brings to the academy, our region, and society. UW faculty members are appointed as members of this prestigious group based upon success initiating groundbreaking programs for translation, collaborating with industry, or in translating their research into products or therapies.

 The objectives of this program at the University of Washington include:

  • Formalizing appreciation of entrepreneurial faculty
  • Fostering entrepreneurial culture at UW by encouraging consultation and mentoring
  • Increasing the number of innovations moving from lab to useful implementation
  • Showcasing University of Washington researchers’ contributions to the regional innovation ecosystem and Washington State Economy




Congratulations to Dr. Lauren Higdon for successfully defending her dissertation May 29, 2014.  The title of her dissertation is "Receptor revision in CD4 T cells is influenced by follicular helper T cell formation and germinal center interactions."

Dr. Higdon earned her PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Pamela J. Fink,  Professor in the UW Department of Immunology.  Dr Fink's lab is located in Building E of the UW South Lake Union Medical Research campus.

Congratulations to Dr. Shivani Srivastava for successfully defending her dissertation on April 11, 2014.  The title of Shivani's dissertation is "Conrol of regulatory T cell function by type I interfeons during acute viral infection and autoimmunity"

Shivani earned her PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Daniel Campbell, UW Affiliate Associate Professor.  Dr Campbell's lab is located at the Benaroya Research Institute.

The Weiser Lecture has been rescheduled for Monday, November 17, 2014.  Dr. Gerald Crabtree of Stanford Univeristy is the 2014 Weiser Lecture speaker.  Crabtree is a Professor in the Department of Pathology at Stanford, speaking on the topic will be "Chromatin Regulation in Cancer."

Since 1985, the annual Russell S. and Rae Weiser Endowed Lecture has featured leading immunological investigators.  This lecture is held during the academic year at the University of Washington, as part of the Department of Immunology Seminar Series. 

The Lecture begins at 3:30pm in Smith Auditorium at 850 Republican Street, in the South Lake Union campus. 

Congratulations to Dr. Michael Gale of the UW Department of Immunology, who has been elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. The Academy, the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology, recognizes excellence, originality, and creativity in the microbiological sciences, and election to this group is a mark of distinction.

Each elected Fellow has built an exemplary career in basic and applied research, teaching, clinical and public health, industry or government service. Election to Fellowship indicates recognition of distinction in microbiology by one's peers.  Academy Fellows are eminent leaders in the field of microbiolgy and are relied upon for authoritative advie and information on critical issues in microbiology.

Newly elected Fellows will be recognized at the 114th ASM General Meeting in Boston on Tuesday May 20, 2014.