UW Immunology

About UW Immunology

The Department of Immunology was established in 1986 by the University of Washington School of Medicine.  The department was created with support from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI), which provided initial funds for laboratory and administrative space, and resources for recruiting leading immunologists to complement UW researchers already conducting immunology work.  Dr. Roger Perlmutter was appointed as the first chair in 1989, and served until 1997.  Dr. Perlmutter was succeeded by Dr. Christopher Wilson who served as the second chair from 1999 to 2009.  The current chair, Dr. Joan Goverman, was appointed in 2010.

Today, the Department of Immunology is home to 13 core faculty members and 19 adjunct and affiliate faculty, approximately 70 postdoctoral fellows, and 35-40 graduate students, including students from the graduate Molecular and Cellular Biology program and the Medical Student Training program.

For questions about this page contact immcasst@uw.edu